Franz (1765-1844) and Georg Brentano (1775-1851), two brothers of the poet siblings Bettine and Clemens, acquired the property, which was built in 1751, in 1804. It was owned by the family until 2014, which is why it is only called "Brentano House". The domicile is considered to be one of the intellectual and cultural centers of Rhine romanticism. The numerous guests from politics and culture include Johann Wolfgang von Goethe, the Brothers Grimm and Freiherr vom und zum Stein. Originally preserved rooms give a unique impression of the living culture and the lifestyle of the time. Above all, the rooms on the upper floor – including the two rooms in which Goethe lived in 1814 – have retained their unique atmosphere for over 200 years. The building is to be completely renovated and carefully restored over the next few years. The aim is to make the Brentano house accessible to the public as a historical place and cultural heritage of German romanticism.